6 Honey Spa Treatments We Love

From skin-care multitasker to wellness elixir, honey is stepping out of the shadows from its sweet-stuff reputation to take the reins as one of the hottest total-health ingredients.

Related Articles:
Quick Spa Treatments
What Type Of Facial Is Right For You?
Farm to Table Spa Treatments
Our Favorite Luxury Spa Products
Adventurous Spa Getaways

1/7

Raw Honey: According to holistic nutritionist Mia Jacobs, this is the best choice for internal consumption, because it has not been pasteurized, the process of which kills off some of its enzymes and nutrients.

Try: Really Raw Honey, $15, reallyrawhoney.com

Treatment: Facials at Cavalli Island Retreat, cavalliislandretreat.co.nz

Topical: Bite Beauty Honey Lip Laquer, $24, sephora.com

2/7

Buckwheat Honey: Considered the antioxidant powerhouse, buckwheat honey is the darkest in the bunch and has one of the highest concentrations of vitamins (it actually contains vitamin C).

Try: Bee Raw Buckwheat Honey, $12, beeraw.com

Treatment: Honey Fig Body Quench at Auberge du Soleil, $275, aubergedusoleil.com

Topical: Molton Brown London Ultrasmooth Coco de Mer Body Lotion, $30, moltonbrown.com

3/7

Royal Jelly: Although technically not honey or bee pollen, royal jelly is a unique substance that is the food of the Queen Bee (who lives about four to six years, while the average worker bee only lives six weeks); Traditional Chinese Medicine considers it a key ingredient both internally and externally in the fight against aging and for overall health.

Try: BeeAlive Pure & Natural Royale Jelly, $125 for a three-month supply, beealive.com

Treatment: Pevonia's Royal Jelly Facial at Dreams Resorts Punta Cana, dreamsresorts.com

Topical: Hey Honey Good Night Royal Honey Gel, $39, heyhoney.com

4/7

Wildflower Honey: Comprising a wide variety of nectars, wildflower honey comes from undefined sources, typically during the Spring months. It is one of the most common types of honey and is usually the one associated with combating allergies.

Try: Honey Republic Organic Wildflower Honey, $11, honeyrepublic.com

Treatment: Golden Honey Facial at Golden Door Spa in Waldorf Astoria Park City, $155, goldendoor.com

Topical: Ahava Relaxation Honey Bath Salts, $22, ahavaus.com

5/7

Orange Blossom: Found from groves in Mexico, California, Arizona, Florida and Texas, this clear honey has a distinctive orange flavor and a light amber color.

Try: Savannah Bee Company Orange Blossom Honey, Starting at $12, savannahbee.com

Treatment: Arizona Honey Orange Blossom Spa Service, $150, theboulders.com

Topical: Marc Jacobs Honey Body Lotion, $45, marcjacobs.com

6/7

Did You Know?

Not all of the skin-care stars from the hive are actually honey, these two by-products provide additional benefits from the hive:

Propolis: Comprised of biologically active tree resin harvested by bees, and mixed with a few of their own secrets, propolis s a natural germicide that is high in antioxidants.

Beeswax: Contributes as an anti-inflammatory and anti-allergenic.

7/7

Full-Body Healer

The Peninsula Beverly Hills Spa recently added several treatments with materials produced by honeybees‹all of which are sourced from the Brazilian rainforest. The 90-minute Brazilian Propolis Body Wrap applies the natural healer to you skin, which is then sealed in with warm coconut milk, poured over the body and massaged in for the ultimate in hydrating and healing results. $295, peninsula.com

0 Comments